What countries will the Unitary Patent and Unified Patent Court cover?

The UP was intended to cover all the EU Member States and in time it may. However, Spain, Poland and Croatia have not to date joined up. The 25 UP participating EU Member States are therefore currently: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and the United Kingdom. However, signature of the UPC Agreement does not guarantee participation in the UP and UPC – ratification is required.

Following the “Brexit” referendum, it initially appeared that that would be the end to further participation by the UK. However, the UK government has since announced that the UK will ratify the UPC Agreement, putting the process back on track.

Click here to return to the UPC homepage

Find the right person

Find the office that suits you

Click here to view our offices